Word Work Craziness

Photo Sep 11, 10 47 48 AMhttp://vimeo.com/74516295

In my head, in my ears, in my eyes, students in this space often look “out of control”. Busy doing this, that, chatting, gesturing, calling one another from across the room….and on and on. However, last week, I decided to sit and take some deep breaths, and watch the kids. During this “chill pill time” for me, I was observing kids responding to personal word walls. These are ABC logs which (from individual conferences with me or a parent volunteer) house words that are misspelled in their authentic writing. They have many options in the room as they explore these words. They absolutely loved doing this. After watching and looking out the physical outcomes of their work, it is clear that often what my mind is “thinking” about what kids look like in this new space is the ghosts creeping in from my old paradigm. A trusted colleague reminds me of Maria Montessori’s philosophy, “…and so we discovered that education is not something

English: Portrait of Maria Montessori
English: Portrait of Maria Montessori (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

which the teacher does, but that it is a natural process which develops spontaneously in the human being. it is not acquired by listening to words, but in virtue of experiences in which the child acts on his environment. The teacher task is not to talk, but to prepare and arrange a series of motives for cultural activity in a special environment made for the child.” This quote resonates as I put myself into this space as a creator alongside my students.

One thought on “Word Work Craziness

  1. Mary Lisa –
    You have just inspired me! Often, I read your blog, and even though I don’t have all of the cool “stuff” you have acquired through your grant, I am compelled to try something new. The LEGO word building is going to rock in my first grade! You are touching kids outside of your own classroom with your innovation!

Leave a Reply

